Eight Things to Start Doing By the Time You’re 30

Whether at twenty, thirty, forty or in whatever stage we get to finally hear the call to live a purposeful life, take heed and start over.

About a week ago I just bid farewell to the twenties. It was unstoppable. I would have wanted to stay twenty-one forever but as the sun rises and sets everyday, I keep adding days, weeks, months, and then years to my roller coaster life.

1433132107797

I think it is rather worth mentioning that there is nothing magical about moving to the thirties. You don’t wake up on your birthday feeling like a changed person. No, that’s not the case. Everything’s the same – my challenges, disposition, and goals. But that doesn’t mean I will not be able to overcome, become better, and achieve something.

This is where the thirties become one of those many chances we get as long as we live. And this simple checklist from Jesse Carey of Relevant Magazine is a good starting point, at least for me, on how to go about making good use of another chance not everyone gets.  I have made a shortlist below: 

 

Waking Up Earlier Than You Have To

I am consistently battling to stay consistent on this habit. Aside from productivity and sanity (yes, sanity) waking up before 6 AM gives me more time to prepare a good breakfast. Whenever I read articles about the habit of successful people, and by successful I don’t mean the size of their bank accounts only, I see a practical list that almost always include setting your feet on the floor before sunrise. Forbes and Women’s Health enumerate the advantages for you.

Once this habit becomes a lifestyle, the rest of the list below is considered done.

Saving Money

Gone are the days of impulsive buying and unplanned getaways. I got into the corporate world right out of college. That was almost ten years ago. While my pay was not very handsome but it was way above the minimum wage in this side of the world. It afforded me a decent apartment, a Starbucks spree once in a while, generosity to my siblings and other relatives, and some travels. However, savings was elusive. I didn’t sign up for an investment plan until four years ago and I must admit I am not very religious in my contribution. So before I admit more lapses I made the past years, let me say, I have no savings. But I am thinking a lot about it right now. I came across some financial wisdom at MoneyTalk and I am on my way to building a good fortune. Kidding, I mean future.

Actually Caring About What You Eat

Okay, what’s a good future if you are no longer there? My father just passed away due to a lifestyle-related and genetically inherited health condition. Considering genetics plus the food I eat, I am already on the death row. I gained a lot of weight and it is becoming more difficult to lose them at thirties. It is high time I watch what I eat and start a physical fitness routine if I really do care about getting to the future that I am working on now.

Making Exercise a Lifestyle

In my mid-twenties, I used to run almost everyday and I take gym seriously after work. It felt great and I am missing that feeling now. The problem with not being able to sustain exercise is that I make it a daily appointment I need to attend to. That feeling of “having to attend to” something makes it a burden I can choose not to carry. And I can see that making it a lifestyle – something I cannot live without – is a good solution.

Making Margin in Your Life

Reminder to self: Don’t get lost in the hustle of life. Take time to do what you love to do – read, write, volunteer, PRAY, travel, and walk the dog.

Creating a Pattern of Giving in Your Finances

As I have previously noted, I am working on catching up with finances and this is making giving more challenging. I get lured to the thought that I own my money. It is becoming easy to forget that “to those much is given, much is required” even in finances. Giving should also be a lifestyle.

Being Intentional With Relationships

Make time not only to things that matter but more importantly to the people who matters. Appoint a day in a month to treat yourself with a cup of coffee and a slice of cake with a friend. It’s therapeutic.

Actively Combating Spiritual Complacency

When I moved back to my hometown, it wasn’t easy to find a new church community to belong to. There’s this feeling of looking for what I was used to in every gathering I attended. My personal struggles and the dailiness of life are keeping my spiritual life at bay. I must admit it is alarming. I need to read good books again, make time for devotions, join a ministry, get involved in the church.

 

Whether at twenty, thirty, forty  or in whatever stage we get to finally hear the call to live a purposeful life, take heed and start over.

Read more from source here:  15 Things to Start Doing By the Time You’re 30 | RELEVANT Magazine

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

Leave a Reply

