Note to Self: Reminders on Coping with Loss

1432432285964
Instagram: @ivyrrufin

It was a Tuesday.

As usual, past 6:00 pm, I had to call him to fetch me at work.

No answer.

Mama told me he’s playing basketball and that I have to go home on my own. I said yes.

After about thirty minutes or more, my phone rang. It was mama.

“Go to the hospital, papa was rushed.”

My heart stopped for a moment, my knees trembled.

I knew it was the day. 

It’s been a month now but I am still grieving. The pain from the loss is immeasurable. I guess it wouldn’t go away completely but I know it shouldn’t take center stage. Aside from taking it one day at a time, let me share with you some of the steps we can take in dealing with the grief of losing a loved one.

Call a friend, that’s a lifeline.

Surround yourself with people, not to deny reality, but to face reality with a hand to hold. My spiritual family has been my strong anchor, preventing me from drifting away during that storm. Do not grieve alone.

“Don’t hurry the grief,”

A friend reminded me. Because I had to be strong for my mother, two younger brothers, and seven-year-old niece who is very close to my late father, I refused to cry in front of them. It was not easy. I had to hold myself in the collar. I had to remain calm to be able to help decide for everybody. Whether we like it or not, we had to deal with issues other than emotions – funeral arrangements, finances, accommodating relatives you haven’t seen for a lifetime. But I did find time to be alone and meditate. The best way is always through, no shortcuts.

It’s okay not to cry (all the time).

I remember crying really hard when I was in the emergency room holding his hand asking God to please give me a miracle. I cried so hard I almost passed out. But after that, when I saw my brothers weeping and my mother trying to wake my father up as if he is just sleeping, I knew I had to stop so I can hold them. Since then I needed a strong stimulus to provoke my tear ducts to shed. But that doesn’t mean I am not in pain. God knows how I am still hurting even if I don’t cry over memories. The absence of tears is not the absence of pain. I still allow myself to feel the emotions: guilt, blame, resentment, grief.

Take care of yourself.

When grieving, it’s more important than ever to take care of yourself. The stress of a major loss can quickly deplete your energy and emotional reserves. Looking after your physical and emotional needs will help you get through this difficult time. This includes getting enough sleep (try), eating well on time (try), and getting a good laugh (try).

It is still too early to say that I am okay but I know I am getting by just fine. I take comfort in the thought that my God is in control. He gives and takes away but He is still worthy to be praised. In the words of Ravi Zacharias

“If you only look at your circumstances, you’ll always be focusing on the wrong thing. Whether in defeat or victory, focus on His Holy Presence… Celebrate the victories and mourn some of the losses but look beyond them to Him.”

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

Leave a Reply

