What if the glass is half-empty?

ivyrufin.wordpress.com

Since I read about the benefits of drinking a glass of water right after you get out of bed I made it a habit. This morning, looking at the glass of water I’m about to empty, I was reminded of these thoughts I read before…

The optimist says the glass is half full.

The pessimist says the glass is half empty.

The project manager says the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

The realist says the glass contains half

the required amount of liquid for it to overflow.

And the cynic… wonders who drank the other half?

 

Then more thoughts flooded in…talk about different perspectives. I will not attempt to shed light on different worldviews based on this age-old argument but let me share with you how I look at it from where I am standing.

Sometimes looking at the glass half-empty is the first step to looking at it half-full. Set your foot on reality. Don’t we find out first what the problem is before we provide the solution? Optimism doesn’t deny emptiness it acknowledges it then works on and through it.

But really, whether it is half-empty or half-full doesn’t matter to me. I have a glass and there is something in it. It might just be what I needed for the day: enough water to get by and enough space to imagine all the good things I can fill it with. I can only be grateful.

*****

Going back to drinking water right after you get out of bed, here’s more morning read for you:

UndergroundHealthReporter

HealthyAndNaturalWorld

NewHealthGuide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

Leave a Reply

