Dear You

When I look at myself, I know, every inch of me complements you. We were molded by the same Potter who thought of us together even before our creation.

I came across this song of Tori Kelly titled “Dear No One” and remembered a love letter with the same salutation…sharing it with you.

ivyrufin.wordpress.com
Serene night at Boracay Island, Philippines (Circa 2010)

Dear you,

When I look at the spaces in between my fingers, I think of your hand – smooth, tough, and warm. I am amazed how they fit mine like a piece of a puzzle.

When I look at my arms, I see your shoulders – strong and secured. They tell me on them I can rest my arms and I am safe.

When I look at my waist, I feel your arms – assured and leading – pulling me closer to you in declaration that we are one.

When I look at myself, I know, every inch of me complements you. We were molded by the same Potter who thought of us together even before our creation.

But now, as I am writing to you, pause, I am looking at the cloudless night sky and I still wonder “Where are you?”

The stars, they remind me that they have been kept in place by the same Hands that hold us both right now. The distance between me and you is the distance between His right hand and left hand…

You are not that far…

And the sea breeze tonight will carry the whisper of this heart that is patiently waiting…

You will be home soon.

 

Love,

Me

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

Leave a Reply

