I am Chicken Adobo

The Cook will need to use heat for this dish like a Blacksmith for a sword and a Potter for a jar.

ivyrufin.wordpress.com
photo credit: Dan Goldberg, Easy Chicken Adobo

Ingredients

4-5 lbs. overweight- but-trying-to-trim-down chicken thigh

1/2 cup white vinegar of sanctification for a Christian-in-progress is aiming high

1/2 cup soy sauce of a dark past, revealed, conquered, now seasoned to taste

4 cloves garlic, crushed for the essence, greatness needs tender crushing of the self, don’t haste

1 tsp. black peppercorns of adventure to season and spice, makes life exciting and humbling with an earthy aroma

3 bay leaves like wrong turns, pungent and bitter but with fragrance like no other

Directions 

Combine all ingredients, dark and light, bitter and sweet, in a large pot. I am as big as the world when I look at the sky. Cover and marinate chicken for 1-3 hours. This is not your quick-easy-cooking guide. Something this tasty and good is always worth the wait. The Cook will need to use heat for this dish like a Blacksmith for a sword and a Potter for a jar. Bring to boil, lower the heat. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally .When in a comfort zone, I asked for the Cook to stir my world and challenge me some more, without challenges to overcome and tasks to complete, life ceases.  Uncover and simmer until sauce is reduced and thickened, and chicken is tender, about 20 more minutes. Graciously, the Cook checks on me from time to time, His eyes are fixed on me while I am on fire. He hears my cries “Lord, it’s too hot.” Or “Lord, your stirring makes me dizzy.” But He doesn’t stop until my essence is thickened and my “self” is reduced and I am tender. And because I know Him, I wait patiently. Finally, serve with steamed rice.

(Chicken Adobo is an authentic Filipino dish. Adobo comes from the Filipino word “inadobo” which means “braised in soy sauce and vinegar”, the process of cooking the dish. Ingredients and directions are from Food Network , you can try it.)

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

Leave a Reply

