rumor has it

“Rumors are like dainty morsels that sink deep into one’s heart.” – Proverbs 18:8

Quote

Google didn’t serve me well tonight. I was looking for a poster that I saw before and I cannot find it. It was a photo of two pairs of hands passing on mud, and across the top of the photo is the quote “Rumor, don’t pass it on.” I can remember it perfectly in my head. That poster taught me early on in life about rumor, it’s filthy.

Then, why does it often appear like an apple one would love to devour? I like apple a lot. It’s crunchy at first bite, I like how it sounds. It has a very fine grainy texture that makes you want to munch more. It’s sweet and juicy.  Just like rumor at first glance.

Rumor is probably one of the many things we should be taking a second closer look.

Merriam-Webster’s say on Rumor:

1 : talk or opinion widely disseminated with no discernible source

2: a statement or report current without known authority for its truth

3: a soft low indistinct sound : murmur

We cannot immediately know from whose hands a rumor starts and whose hands will it end. But it is “widely” spread. I remember someone told me it’s like energy of some sort, the bearer cannot wait to pass it on and the receiver gets excited to receive it. This energy can jumpstart a lively conversation, it’s like a very tasty all-around dip. I thought of “good conversation” then I changed it to “lively” because I know it is lively but not all the time good. This kind of conversation is empty. It’s like talking about something to pass the time with. It’s like imagining an apple in your hand and taking a bite on the air.

For some these rumors become their truth, consciously or unconsciously. I remember a distant past when I was choosing class schedules in college. I cross my fingers every time, hoping I do not get to choose the class of the most dreaded professor. What I heard about the person has actually become my truth. I based my decision on hearsay.  Sometimes we aren’t aware that we are forming preconceived ideas about a person or an event or a thing based on rumors. These preconceived ideas often distort our judgment and cloud our reasoning. Worst, it severs ties and destroys relationships.

Most rumors are spread in whispers. In “soft, low, indistinct sound”. Why? Because both the bearer and the receiver know what they are talking about are not proven facts. What we are ashamed of we hide, right? Amazing how our minds trick us. The mind knows the truth (it’s not true) but it hides it from us (say it anyway).

The source can be known in some cases. Sometimes we get the story straight from the source. But just because we know the story doesn’t give us the right to share it to others. Sometimes we share other’s personal story as we see it.  In our own point-of-view, the truth can be altered. And as we pass it along, some grain of truth falls from the spaces in between our fingers and the story becomes something else.

Maybe because we feel superior when we get our opinions across? Maybe we feel a little important if we are the source? Maybe it makes us feel like a better person if we talk about the alleged imperfection of others? Maybe we feel empowered talking about another person’s alleged downfall? Maybe we envy the other person too much we wish their story were ours?

“Rumors are like dainty morsels that sink deep into one’s heart.” – Proverbs 18:8

It may look very juicy but be very cautious in taking a bite. You may not know you are already taking in a poison. Once it reaches your hands, don’t pass it on. Or better yet, don’t let it reach you.  – irr 06/25/2013

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

1 thought on “rumor has it”

Leave a Reply

