wisdom from a dog: be soaked in His presence

Shiro

She greets me in the morning with a lick on my toes the moment I get out of bed. The moment I start my day, she starts hers…

I can feel her excitement seeing me awake, she stares at me with wide eyes while I sit at the edge of the bed silently reading my devotional. I stand up to get my towel, stare at the mirror and convince myself to take a shower, she too will stand up and follow me around. I go out of the room, check the fridge for breakfast and she gets more excited as if she knows her food is in the fridge too. I go back to the room to charge my mobile, put my favorite playlist on music player, she patiently lag behind my back like a shadow. Back to the kitchen to boil water for my morning coffee, slice apples, cook light breakfast, while she comfortably sit on the floor watching my every move. I give her some parts of the apple and her face brightens up like the morning sun. She loves apple like I do. By the time I step out of the shower she will be right outside the door, follow me to the room then back to the kitchen to eat. She will lay down at my feet eating her portion of the breakfast. By the time I get ready to leave, she will be in her favorite position on the couch near the door, her eyes fixed on me as if saying “Come home soon.”

But she is prone to wandering too, there are days she doesn’t eat her portion of the food and she doesn’t listen when I call for her to come inside the house. For whatever reason, there are times she doesn’t go near me and prefers to explore outside the house, chase the neighbor’s cat or scare the birds away. She hates taking a bath, she doesn’t like me to touch her nails as if she knows nailclipper bites.

Despite all these, I love the way she stares at the gate when I am opening it. I intentionally hide to see her head slightly bent to the right in bespectacled scrutiny. As soon as she figures out, she barks to call my attention then runs to give me a lick. She will try to stand for me to touch her. She must be waiting for me the whole day.

I can see so much of me in her. I am prone to wandering. I wander away from my Master. Sometimes I choose to be out there on my own and not be under His wings and be safe. I often hurry in life and be ahead of Him, though I know I can only get lost that way. I realized the best way to be “like His image” is to be soaked in His presence and that would mean following Him around. To be more sensitive to His voice, be very close to Him. Expect Him in the dailiness of life. Think about Him at the start until the end of the day.

Wherever He leads, go there. When He leads to a closed door, wait for Him in patience, He will surely come out from that same door. Let us lay down at His feet, depend upon His goodness to nourish us – physically, emotionally, spiritually. We have all that we need when we are under His throne. Follow Him and joy will follow you around too.
– irr 5:08 PM 6/13/2013

========================

Author: Ivy Rufin

Ivy Rufin is a wordsmith-in-progress. She believes that she is a continuing work of art and so are her works. An average Jane with an enormous appetite for life. Here, she hopes to share her thoughts in an attempt to practice the craft, express herself and communicate with other souls out there who pursue the same goals. For now, she struggles to write daily and more often than not, it’s not her it’s the coffee talking.

2 thoughts on “wisdom from a dog: be soaked in His presence”

Leave a Reply

